For the first time, central air conditioner energy conservation standards vary by region, so different air conditioners will be available to customers living in the North, Southeast, and Southwest regions.  A central air conditioner meeting the new standards will save you money through lower energy bills. These standards apply based on the kind of air conditioner installed and when and where the central air conditioner is installed. The “Southwest” includes: Arizona, California, Nevada, or New Mexico.  The “Southeast” includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories.  The “North” includes the remainder of the United States.

Click here to read the entire article